Reader Questionnaire

I saw this post over on Bluchickenninja’s blog who got it from someone else and so on. It seems to be doing the rounds and I thought I would give it a go. If your reading this I would love to see your responses to this as well.

 

1. What is your favourite book?
This depends on whether i’m allowed to say a series or have to pick a singular book. But as this is my blog I will do both. For a series the Harry Potter books will always be up there but I would have to say either the Queens Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner or ASOIAF by George RR Martin. For a singular book it has to be Peter Pan by JM Barrie.

 

2. What are your goals? For the year? For your life?
To be content and creative. I had a very difficult first few years when I got ill where I was comparing myself and my life to everyone else. There lies madness. I’ve managed to get to the stage where I am happy being me. As long as I am able to have some kind of creative outlet (which at the moment is crafting and this here blog) I think I will be okay. But, if I had one big dream it would be to write a book. Speaking of…..

 

3. Are you a writer? If so, tell me about your work.
I would like to say yes, in a more theoretical way rather than technically. I don’t actually write as i’m not well enough to do and it takes so much out of my already low energy levels. But, I do have ideas, all the time, and I am always creating stories in my head. (I have a very in depth fanfiction of the Harry Potter world written in my head which I visit whenever i’m not well enough to do anything other than think). I have my first book planned and a few chapters written before it got too much and I crashed but I do hope I will manage it one day.

 

4. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I’d love to visit Croatia. Dubrovnik looks amazing and i’ve always wanted to see the Plitvice lakes, maybe stay on one (or some) of the islands, go on some short sailing trips. It all sounds wonderful. I’d also like to see Costa Rica and Japan during the cherry blossoms.

 

5. What was the last movie you saw in the theatre and was it worthwhile?
Its been a while since i’ve been well enough to get to the cinema, but a couple years ago we made a trip of going to see the first Hobbit film at the IMAX in London. Its always worth seeing a film at the IMAX and popcorn is yummy but it was a bit long!

 

6. I’m curious, are there any books that you’ve tried to read and simply couldn’t finish? This is a no judgement zone.
Lot’s! I really do have to feel like reading a book or it will never get finished. I’m of the belief that, seeing as there are so many books that we will never get to read, it really isn’t worth persevering with a book you don’t like. If i kind of like it or if it was a gift/recommendation I will try my best but sometimes i just can’t get into a book. I save some of them to see if I ever feel like going back but don’t normally, as I said, there are so many brilliant books out there.

 

7. Are you currently working on a new book/project right now? If it’s secret, you don’t have to tell me about it. If so, however, I hope it’s going well. 
My projects at the moment are this blog (and social media in general), and attempting to finish my blanket.

 

8. If you could live in any of your favourite books, which one would you choose? 
I’d definitely pick Hogwarts over anywhere else in any world. (Party in the Slytherin Common room)

 

9. Are there any book-to-movie adaptations that you think are just incredible? That you absolutely hated? 
I honestly don’t think there are any that I watched and thought wow that was really good. I’m normally left pretty disappointed by adaptations. I think there are some admirable efforts but if its a book you really like, its going to be very rare that they get it as good as your imagination can. That saying, I thought The Book Thief was done pretty well, maybe because I hadn’t read it in a while or because it was set in this world so less to imagine. As for the other side, I remember being really excited that they had turned Stormbreaker into a movie when I was a kid. I was not so when I had watched it. Recently, I was pretty disappointed in Enders Game, but then I LOVED the book and they had cut out too much of the stuff I liked for me to ever like the movie much. I think as a stand alone movie it was good, as most adaptations are I guess.

 

10. What do you look for in a book that you want to read? What’s the first thing to capture your attention?
The title is the first thing i judge a book by, then the cover. If the title doesn’t jump out at me and make me think “Hmmm, Interesting, I wonder what that’s about”. Then I won’t click on it/look it up/pick it up. Then I look at the cover, and if it passes these two, I read the blurb. I’m sure i’ve missed loads of books by doing this but there are so many!

 

11. If you’re an author, what do you do when you first get an idea for a book?
Think about it. Haha. As I said earlier, I’m not well enough to write (I guess i’m not an author then) so I just think about them in my head.

 

12. How do you feel about different genres? Romance? YA? Sci-Fi? Poetry? Do you have any favorites? Any least-favourites?
Generally speaking I like speculative fiction most, so scifi and fantasy. A lot of that seems to fall into YA nowadays, but there also seems to be a lot of romance in the YA books which I try to steer clear of. I don’t like Romance novels, and I’d rather not read books that are set in the real world. (I’m trying to escape not be reminded). That said these aren’t hard and fast rules and I do read out of my comfort zone every now and then. I do tend to read a lot of books aimed at children as brain fog often makes it hard to read more complicated books but I still want to read. I save the better books for when I really want something good.

 

13. If you could meet any writer in the world, dead or alive, who would it be?
I don’t really know, I don’t really pay attention to the authors name on a book, just the story. I guess I would say JK Rowling, but it would be such an awkward meeting as i’m really bad in social situations! I would rather they spent their time writing another book for me.

 

14. Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?
Fiction, I really struggle with nonfiction, i’m rubbish at reading biographies even of the people I love. I prefer my non fiction in short bursts of online research or magazine articles like Focus.

 

15. Are there any characters that everyone loves that you can’t stand? Or vice versa?
Ooof, I’m ready to be slaughtered, but, I never really liked Harry Potter much! I absolutely loved the books (They are and will always be a part of me) but the character….. There were so many other awesome characters in there and he was never one of my favourites. I can’t really think of any other characters.

 

16. What do you like to do besides reading/writing?
I love anything creative. I spend my energy crafting when I can, I love listening to music (and creating stories in my head to it), I love watching sports, and chatting to my amazing friends online.

 

17. If you could be remembered for one thing, what would it be?
I would love to have a book published one day. If even a handful of people still picked up my book to read after I had died that would be amazing. But, just as a good friend to people, I hope my friends remember me.

 

18. What is your favourite guilty pleasure book?
I can’t think of anything that would fall under this other than the masses and masses of fanfiction that I have read.

 

19. Do you have a reading goal set for this year?
No, I’ve done one for the last couple years but not this year. You can read about why in this blog post.

 

20. Tell me anything about yourself that I haven’t asked. Random fact. Weird human trick. Whatever.
Oh gosh, umm, I’m trying to learn Spanish (Trying is the operative word here).
2 thoughts on “Reader Questionnaire

  1. I agree with the whole film adaption thing. Once you’ve read a book and love it, a film rarely lives up to expectations or the ideas you have of how the characters should look and the how the film should feel! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

