7 Things I Would Do Tomorrow – ME Awareness Part 2

7things2

It’s the first of June, so I missed ME awareness Month by a day with this post but I’ve been really sick these last couple weeks and I just couldn’t get on my laptop to post this any sooner. I talked in the last part about the everyday things that I (and lots of others with this illness) are not able to do that most people probably take a bit for granted (who actually wants to have to get up to answer the door, right?). Now in this part, I’m going to talk about some of the bigger things that I would do if i got miraculously well tomorrow. I guess this is a kind of mini, condensed bucket list for the future. Again, one for every full year that I have been sick.

7 Things I Would Do Tomorrow:

  1. Meet some of my Best Friends for the first time. I know this sounds a bit odd. How can someone be your best friend if you’ve never met them? Well, over the years of having this illness I’ve talked to a fair few amazing people online who have really carried me through the boredom and loneliness. I don’t know how sane I’d be without them to chat to all the time so, if I got well tomorrow, I’d be off on a few worldwide trips to Australia and Germany (as well as a fair few closer to home).
  2. BBQ at my house everyone! A little more immediately, one of the first things I would do is have a BBQ in my garden with family and friends. If you read my previous ME awareness post, you’ll know that I can’t get to my garden anymore as i’m pretty much stuck upstairs. There have been many a summer day (Okay, well not many. This is England) where I’ve thought this would be a lovely day for a BBQ but not been any where near well enough to have one. So, i’d break out the shades, mix some cocktails or grab some cider (did I mention alcohol intolerance is one of my many symptoms?) light the barbie and sit back and watch the food sizzle (and maybe grab an umbrella if the weather turns).
  3. Play Tennis and Football again. Wimbledon fever is nearly upon us and I’d love to be able to go to the park with my brother and play some tennis like we use to do when this time of year came around. I’d also love to be able to kick a football around again.
  4. Get a job. I got sick at 15 and I have never really been well enough since to get a job. I managed 8 hours a week volunteering for about a month once a few years ago but that was too much for me and I’m much worse now. I would love to have the experience of just having to get up and go to work everyday for a while at least. These next few would cost a bit of money as well so I’d need to get a job to payroll them (I’m sure that would be easier said than done with no experience on my CV though).
  5. Scuba Diving Internship. My plan was always to take a gap year before I went to University. As my health degraded I changed my ideas for my gap year in accordance. But this was my number one. I was going to spend 3 or 4 months on a small Thai islands learning to scuba dive and do my PADI qualifications until I was able to officially help teach other people to scuba dive too. Working as a dive instructor would be pretty amazing. I think I was actually more upset about having to give this dream up than having to give up going to university.
  6. Wizarding World of Harry Potter. I don’t think I really have to explain this one do I? I grew up with the books, I’ve been to the Studio Tour, of course I want to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in America.
  7. Learn Spanish in Spain. I’m currently trying to learn Spanish but between the brain fog, learning by myself, and the fact that I’ve never been very good with languages, I’m not getting very far. This was also my 3rd, final and least energy consuming plan for a gap year before I had to give up on it completely so, you can see I’ve wanted to do this for a few years now. Going to live in Spain to learn Spanish at a language school for a couple months would definitely be my choice of ways to learn the language.
Leave a Reply

