A New Hook

WP_20150601_20_08_04_Pro

A few months ago I posted asking if anyone knew where I could find a double ended tunisian crochet hook that wasn’t acrylic. Well, I ended up buying an acrylic one becuase it was impossible to find a wooden or metal one. It’s not as bad as I thought it would be. I’ve never used plastic hooks before, only plastic knitting needles, and I knew I didn’t like those but it seems plastic isn’t so bad in hook form. I’m not sure why but I’m glad. I bought a 6.5mm hook and it was only a couple pounds so pretty good value too.

boxMy hook arrived the other week in an absolutely massive box. I know it’s 30cm long but surely there was a better option than this box? Ah well, it arrived safely in amongst all the packaging and I was able to give it a go nearly straight away (though it took me longer to find a way to get rid of the massive box). I decided to make a cowl using two different colours of aran yarn in the Tunisian simple stitch. There are some mistakes, (the starting join isn’t very neat for example) but I think overall I’m pretty happy with my first try at doing Tunisian crochet in the round. The downside is that this project was suppose to use up some of my yarn stash, more specifically some massive balls of yarn that I initially bought for a blanket that is now never going to get made. But having finished the cowl the balls of yarn I was using are no smaller than when I started!

I guess I’ll have to make a fair few more cowls (unless anyone has any more ideas for using up yarn with Tunisian crochet in the round?), anyone want one?!

 

Leave a Reply

