Crochet Christmas Bunting

bunting

I finished the first element for my Christmas wreath, I can’t show you it all together yet as I haven’t finished the base for the wreath but I wanted to share the christmas bunting that I have made. I’m including the tutorial for how I made the bunting at the bottom of this post if anyone wants to give it a go, I’m also including instructions on how to scale it up to make a larger version too.

My original idea was to have it say ‘Merry Christmas’ But it quickly became apparent that fitting the word christmas on my wreath just wasn’t going to happen so I settled for ‘Xmas’ instead.

I started by having a play around with some spare yarn to work out the shape of each piece of bunting. Once I had got the shape and the sizing worked out I switched to the colours that I wanted to use and started crocheting away.  This whole wreath is a bit of a stash buster project for me so for the bunting I’m eating into my left over Stylecraft Special DK from the tunisian crochet blanket that I made last year. I’m using Bottle Green and Lipstick here, don’t they look so christmassy?

Once I had the bunting pieces all done (I did 5 of the red and 4 of the green), I had a play with the lettering. I ended up deciding on using a yarn needle to backstitch the letters on rather than slip stitching. I used some Stylecraft Chunky yarn in White for this. Normally I quite like the effect of slip stitching on top of crochet work but I thought that on such a small scale it looked rather messy.

Now all that was left was to put it together. I used some christmas twine that I had (red, green and white) to connect them up, slip stitching across the top chain edges of each piece. I left plenty of twine on each end so that I won’t have any trouble attaching it to my wreath and I chained one in between each piece.

Tutorial:

sheild

 

Supplies:

  • DK yarn (I used stylecraft special DK in bottle green and lipstick)
  • 3.5mm crochet hook
  • Yarn needle

I’m going to write the instructions for the size that I made them. But the brackets will explain anything you need to know to scale up.

Row 1: Chain 11. (You want an even number of stitches so that when you get to decreasing you don’t have any left over. Here you are chaining 10 +1 turning chain. The larger one in the image above is 12+1. You can make it as large as you like so long as you follow this)

Row 2 – 9: Turn work and single crochet into second chain from hook. Single crochet in each chain across, this should be 10 single crochets. Chain 1 then turn. (For the size I made I did 8 rows of single crochet on top of the chain row, but if you are doing a larger version you want to do rows of single crochet until your piece is roughly square)

Row 10: Single crochet two together (sc2tog) for the first two stitches of the row. Single crochet in each of the next 6 stitches. Sc2tog the last two stitches of the row. Chain 1 then turn work. (From here on you are sc2tog the first two and last two stitches of each row. Remember to chain 1 each time you turn!)

Row 11: Sc2tog first two stitches. Single crochet in next 4. Sc2tog last two stitches. Chain 1. Turn.

Row 12: Sc2tog first two stitches. Single crochet in next 2. Sc2tog last two. Chain 1. Turn

Row 13: Sc2tog first two stitches. Sc2tog last two stitches. Bind off. Weave in ends.

Bloglovin / Twitter Pinterest / Goodreads / Ravelry / Tumblr / Google+

Leave a Reply

