Memo Pad

thememopad

 

Books: 3

World After (Penryn and the End of Days #2) by Susan Ee *****

End of Days (Penryn and the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee *****

I’m going to review these two together as a series rather than individual books. I liked this trilogy which was a bit surprising to me. I probably shouldn’t have as it has loads of things I normally avoid in a book. But the angels were well done and with a good depth to their story. Penryn was a good female lead, who although was slightly obsessed in the romance, was strong and did things on her own. There’s nothing terribly original here I don’t think but as a YA it was an enjoyable, easy read.

Prince of Fools (The Red Queens War #1) by Mark Lawrence *****

I didn’t realise this was set in the same universe at the same time as the prince of thorns books were. I only read the first one of those as I didnt like the ending of it but may go back and read the rest at some point. I thought this book was very well written. It’s not normally something I notice, (mainly I suspect because I’ve been reading a lot of YA lately and that’s not normally that well written) or haven’t recently anyway. It’s a good story, characters were interesting but not that deep. Though this might improve as the series goes on and there is more character development.

My Month:

It’s so cold! I hate the winter so much. Last month at least I could ignore the cold and look forward to Christmas but now it’s just c0ld. Bring on summer.

What tends to happen this time of year is that I spend money on something to try to distract me. This time it was a little something called the Silhouette Portrait which is an electronic cutting machine. It got here this week and I’m mega excited to start using it.

In fact I’m going to cut this post short and go and play! Wish me luck.

Bloglovin / Twitter Pinterest / Goodreads / Ravelry / Tumblr / Google

Leave a Reply

