The Memo Pad: Books

thememopadAfter lots of thinking, I have finally decided to change these monthly memo pad posts into a books only post. I feel like it will be better to update you on craft projects or big events that happen in their own posts. I may re=name these posts to something more booky too, So, on to the books.

Read: 4

Half Bad by Sally Green *****

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination.

So, first off, I got this book very cheaply in a sale. It’s one of those books that’s alright to take up some time but I wouldn’t read the sequel. The problem with that is, they introduced a character in the last third of the book that I actually really like and I want to know what happens to him. I’m still not sure if I’ll read the sequel. Maybe if it goes on sale like this one did.

Ink and Bone By Rachel Caine *****

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

I’ve read the supremely powerful library kind of books before, but this is my favourite. It was very well done and I’m excited for the next in the series to be released.

Steal the Sky By Megan O’Keefe *****

Detan Honding, a wanted conman of noble birth, and his trusted companion Tibs set out to steal an airship. Things get a whole lot more complicated as a doppel shows up and starts murdering important people. Detan wants to stay and finish the plan but if his dangerous secret gets revealed, he has a lot more to worry about than a stolen airship.

This book is like a love child between The Gentleman Bastards and Mistborn. If you liked The Lies of Locke Lamora, I’d definitely recommend you check it out. It’s my favourite book I’ve read so far this year.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld *****

Tally is fifteen, living in a world where everyone gets turned into a ‘Pretty’ on their sixteenth birthday. No differences mean no wars and Tally has been dreaming of turning Pretty all her life. But a few months before her birthday she meets Shay.. Tally gets thrown into a new dangerous world where she finds out turning Pretty isn’t what she’s been told it is.

I read this while recovering from a dentist appointment and it did what it said on the tin. I wanted something YA easy to read. As dystopian books go, it’s okay. Nothing special but interesting enough to pass a few hours with.

Bloglovin / Twitter Pinterest / Goodreads / Ravelry / Tumblr / Google

Leave a Reply

