Away oh oh oh Away From Here

I am not here, sat at my computer typing this. No, I am on holiday (wooooo!). Hopefully right now I am lying in the sun relaxing. Maybe I’m reading one of the many books I have loaded on my kindle for this very occasion (more on these later) or maybe I’m listening to some nice summery music to go with the summery weather.

Ah, can you feel the sun on your skin? I can. I mean, now, when I am writing this, stuck at home indoors. Just imagining being there soon, I can feel the sun.

The journey is much more complicated this year. We moved to Guernsey eight months ago after having lived in London my whole life. I can say with absolute truthfulness that I completely took for granted living near Londons airports. Now to go on holiday we have to fly back to London to fly out to the Canary Islands. In fact, to fly pretty much anywhere I would have to fly back to the UK first.

It’s only an extra one hour flight I hear you say, but no. For me and my illness it is a lot more than that. It’s the sitting up in the car too and from the airport an extra two times. It’s having to stay at home in London for three nights (stuck upstairs in my small box room unable to get outside or even to the kitchen) before making the trek back to the airport. It’s trying to postpone my inevitable crash after traveling home an extra day because the flights don’t work out great and I know having my week long crash when I finally get home is much better than it starting on the way.

Thbenniere are of course ways to try to lessen the impact.
My faithful wheelchair Bennie (and my dear wheelchair pushers, messrs Mum and Dad) means I don’t have to walk much of anywhere, airport assistance means we tend to get through queues quicker so more time for resting. Resting up well and packing well before hand so I have as much energy as possible when the time comes and, of course, remembering to talk my ibuprofen before and after my back starts seizing up from sitting upright for so long (I’m still pretty rubbish at remembering to do this before hand though).

But after all that, the sunshine is always worth it.

I’m going to leave you with my list of holiday reads. I only meant to download 6 books (I only ever manage to get through 4 in a one week holiday) but I accidentally have more now. How did that happen?

I’d love to know if you’ve read any of these and what you thought. I’m not sure which one to start with, it’ll just be whatever I feel like at the time (after badgering my parents to pick one for me then ignoring their choices).

  • Retribution Falls (Tales of the Ketty Jay) By Chris Wooding
  • Boneshaker by Cherie Priest
  • The Child Thief By Brom
  • Golden Son (and Morning Star) By Pierce Brown
  • The 5th Wave By Rick Yancey
  • Six of Crows By Leigh Bardugo
  • All the Light we Can Not See By Anthony Doerr
  • Ship of Magic By Robin Hobb
  • Leviathan Wakes By James A. Corey

 

Bloglovin / Twitter Pinterest / Goodreads / Ravelry / Tumblr / Google

4 thoughts on “Away oh oh oh Away From Here

  1. Queues has always been the thing about my CFS that scared me. There was a time where I could only stand for like 20 minutes at the most. I really want to travel but I’m still put off by having to wait in queues. Also have you read Six of Crows yet? I really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read it yet, no. I got through three books in the week but not that one. Airport assistance is great in that you avoid queues and you don’t have to stand. I can only stand for a minute of two and it’s never a problem.

      Like

Leave a Reply

