Happy Birthday to me

Its been a bit of a busy week here. Last Monday was my birthday. I’ve made it another year. Woo! Go me!13418972_10153687186683506_194757055526032898_n

Two days before, on the Saturday, my parents brought me to a craft store for a shopping spree as a birthday present. It was great to get out (I hadn’t been out of the house for almost two months so it was about time for another excursion) and the craft store was absolutely jam packed with stuff. The craft store also had a small section of fancy dress and I was drawn to the crown. Which very nearly got bought so I could wear it around the house. But alas, it was not to be.

I ended up mainly buying some fabric. Who knew it was so expensive?! Well, I didn’t anyway. I got three different ones, which you can see in the photo below. A cream with black butterflies and a matching fabric: a navy with cream butterflies. I also got a plain cheaper beige material. I’m hoping to get my sewing machine out and try to make some bags. First we’ll have to check that the sewing machine works as it hasn’t been used for years and even then, I bought it just before I got too ill to use it so its only ever been used to make some seat covers. Looking back now I think I should have bought some lining material rather than using one of the expensive fabrics for the lining too. Anyone have any good online fabric shops that they buy from to recommend? I’ve never done this before so all help is welcome! I bought one metre of each of the roll so they are 1×3 metres. How much would you expect to pay for that? It probably doesn’t help that I can’t tell you what the fabric is!

WP_20160614_19_23_23_Pro

I also got an assortment of other presents, a couple of double ended tunisian crochet hooks, a couple of pens, some paper, some samples of heat transfer vinyl that could be used to adorn the bags if they ever get made. I also got a lovely surprise of a BB8 drone from my brother. Its great fun although when it went to explore my room it kept getting decapitated as it seemed to love zooming underneath my chest or drawers!

WP_20160613_17_22_05_ProAnd speaking of surprises: a friend sent me a massive (and when I say massive think lifetime supply) of american pancake mix!

She’s american and the other week we had gotten into a discussion about food, as you do. I may have mentioned pancakes as dessert and how we don’t have american pancakes over here and a week later I opened a birthday parcel and TA DA! Lifetime supply of american pancakes! Guess what I’m going to be eating this weekend? I think I’m probably a little over excited but I can’t wait! It was an amazing surprise.

Overall, I had a pretty great birthday, lots of lovely cards (and some I’m still looking forward to getting from far flung places) and lovely presents. I’m definitely paying for the good times though, as I’ve been knackered all week but there has been plenty of football to watch in bed so that’s kept me occupied.

Bloglovin / Twitter Pinterest / Goodreads / Ravelry / Tumblr / Google

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to me

  1. Happy Birthday fellow Gemini. Mine was Wednesday. Just a smidge older thsn you by several decades 😂😂😂 try freecycle its an internet based free to good home area service, which is a worldwide organization. People put up on offer or request free items they are clearing or would like. Like recycling. I recently picked up a huge bag of fabric and clothing off cuts. Some fantastic, some ordinary, etc give it a whirl, its free

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy birthday to you too! Thanks, I’ve heard of that so will check it out. But I really want a proper fabric shop to browse through too. I don’t really want heaps of stuff as I might not get on with my sewing machine!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday! That’s a lovely lot of goodies you have there. Yummy fabric 🙂
    I use sheets for backing for quilts and they work fine. I do get cotton ones, which are a bit more expensive, but still cheaper than buying yardage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

