Memo Pad: Book Reviews

A look at the books I’ve read this month.  

Read: 3

Storywalker by David Bridger *****

The story follows Molly Mathews who suffers from an illness called ME. Through her illness she has relied on books to comfort her specifically her favourite series of books called Tamass the Fearless written by Paul Best. When a particularly bad day for Molly ends with her actually inside her favourite story she learns that these stories aren’t just fictional ideas Paul has written, but a real place. Part of a multiverse that connects our own world of water with the world where Tamass the Fearless lives. On the same particularly bad day for Paul, he discovers the same thing and that Tamass the Fearless, the hero he thought he’d made up in his books is actually his brother, separated at birth to protect them. Their paths intertwine as they all discover a plot that would enslave both their worlds

I really liked this book.  I especially loved Molly, as someone who retreats into books to cope with illness too, she was a lovely character to read about and spend time with. I’m not normally one for quests that mean lots of travel but its done really well here and we don’t spend much time on the road. I especially loved the way that the history of the worlds intertwine with myths and legends. I mean, the legend of atlantis and avalon had to come from somewhere right? The characters in the story are a diverse bunch and there’ll be at least someone for everyone to connect with. They’re done very realistically and all have their own motivations. The only thing that prevents me from giving this five stars is that I thought some of the introductions of new elements of the story were a little convenient but for me it didn’t take away from the overall enjoyment of the story.

The Three by Sarah Lotz *****

Four simultaneous plane crashes. Three child survivors. A religious fanatic who insists the three are harbingers of the apocalypse. What if he’s right?

The world is stunned when four commuter planes crash within hours of each other on different continents. Facing global panic, officials are under pressure to find the causes. With terrorist attacks and environmental factors ruled out, there doesn’t appear to be a correlation between the crashes, except that in three of the four air disasters a child survivor is found in the wreckage. Dubbed ‘The Three’ by the international press. When a rapture cult led by a charismatic evangelical minister insists that the survivors are three of the four harbingers of the apocalypse. The Three are forced to go into hiding, but as the children’s behaviour becomes increasingly disturbing, even their guardians begin to question their miraculous survival…

I really enjoyed this book. It’s billed as a horror and that’s not something I would normally read but the blurb grabbed me. Having finished the book, I really wouldn’t call it a horror story. It’s written in a documentary style with the chapters being news stories, first hand accounts or chat and interview transcripts. That sounds pretty boring to me but it isn’t. I loved the style of writing and it worked really well at building up a story. I really enjoyed reading but I can also see why people wouldn’t like it. It’s just one of those books.  If you like it you’ll love it. 


The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1) by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare *****

Call has no idea what he’ll come up against in THE IRON TRIAL but he knows that if he passes the test, he’ll become a student of magic at the Magisterium. Only, all his life, Call’s been warned to stay away from magic, so he tries his best to do his worst – but fails at failing. Now he must enter the Magisterium, and it’s even more sensational and sinister that he could ever have imagined.

A lot of people I’ve seen have compared this book to Harry Potter but it really didn’t feel that similar to me. I did find it very similar to Foundation: The Collegium Chronicals by Mercedes Lackey. A young boy goes to magic school. Makes friends and finds out more about his parents and new world. There were parts where I thought it was more four stars but overall a very solid three. I’ll probably read the next in the series and see where this goes. 

 
DNF: 1

The Constitution (The Legacy Fleet #1) by Nick Webb

This book has a blurb that reads a lot like battlestar galactica. Old enemy comes back, new technology is useless. Our only hope is an almost retired guy on an almost antique ship. Sounds like it should be a good read. 

I only got a few chapters into this one before I gave up. I got fed up of the characters having conversations explaining the history/plot that they both already know. Find a better way to fill me in because it just sounds way too fake. 

Bloglovin / Twitter Pinterest / Goodreads / Ravelry / Tumblr / Google

5 thoughts on “Memo Pad: Book Reviews

  1. I hate horror stories so I was really please that The Three wasn’t too scary. I really need to have a look at Storywalker, I always assumed that a book wouldn’t be very good if the main character had ME. Not sure how you feel about it but that particular illness results in a very boring life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

