Presents from the Postie

I got a load of lovely surprises in the post this week that I wanted to share with you. First up, two packs of playing cards. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned on my blog that I collect packs of playing cards? I don’t think I have. It started out as me wanting to collect something from all the amazing places I was going to visit. But then chronic illness happened and I never really got to do that. I still have some lovely packs from places I’ve visited on holidays and short breaks over the years (My favourite might be a bright orange pack I got from Holland), buWP_20160729_14_26_55_Prot nowadays most of the packs come as gifts from places other people have visited (mostly my brother, I love you, bro!). These two packs are from India where my brother visited for work last month and from Spain where his girlfriend visited recently (which was a lovely surprise). It’s always nice to know that even if I don’t get to travel, other people are thinking of me when they do and bring me back a slice of the world.

I also got this awesome postcard from a friend of mine in Germany. She went on a trip to Munich and even though it rained (and she happened to be in the same place as the terrorist attack that happened!) she had a good time. And found a brilliant postcard to send which brightened up my day when I found it unexpectedly sitting in my letterbox.

I’ve also started a new crochet project this week.It’s not too early to start on christmas presents, right? Can you guess what it is yet?WP_20160729_14_27_52_ProOnly kidding, if you could then I wouldn’t have shown the photograph as it may or may not end up being for someone who may or may not read this blog every now and then. I thought I should start it early as I’m not sure how it will turn out. Some of the pictures of what others have made look great and others look … not so great. So I need enough time to find a different present if it goes wrong.

It’s a lot bigger than I thought it would be but that’s my fault for not reading the pattern dimensions. I’m a little worries I will run out of yarn as I was only using a small ball of stuff I wanted to use up. But I will jump that hurdle if I ever get to it.

The final present I got in the mail (is it a present if I bought it for myself?), is a new pen holder for my silhouetteWP_20160729_14_30_05_Pro cutting machine. A pen holder means I can get the cutting machine to draw things as well but the official pen holder (in the white below) is made of plastic and has a crack in the side (you can see it just below the M). It’s a known fault because the plastic is weak. It won’t hold a pen securely anymore, even when I tried to wrap it in tape. So I forked out for this new metal one (it wasn’t actually that expensive but the postage from america was!). The good news is that it works and I can’t see this one breaking.

Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Pinterest / Goodreads / Ravelry / Tumblr / Google

One thought on “Presents from the Postie

Leave a Reply

