Top Ten Tuesday

The crafty blog post that I had planned for today has been waylaid by, among other things, a doctors appointment, so instead here’s a bookish post.full

Top Ten Tuesdays is a book tag hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish.

The theme this week is top ten books you’ve read because they’ve been recommended to you.

So this post has some books that have been specifically recommended to me (i.e people have handed them to me and said read this), books that have been recommended by people online (whether I’ve seen them on peoples blogs or on forum rec posts) or, and I was grasping at straws a bit trying to get to ten, books that have just been everywhere and therefore I’m saying the world and society at large recommended them to me.

So without further ado:

Superpowers by David J Schwartz

I’m starting with this one because this is the earliest book that I can remember someone recommending to me. It was about 6 years ago (I’m a very fussy reader so people tended to not bother trying to get me to read things), my brother returned home from his gap year in Thailand/China/that part of the world and gave me, a rather battered, copy of this book saying he’d read it and thought I’d like it. I do remember liking it. Though I don’t know how much as it was before I was really keeping track of books. Basic premise: A group of collage kids drink a load of craft beer and wake up the next day with superpowers rather than hangovers.

 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Skipping forward to the present day. I wasn’t really expecting to read this book, well not this year anyway as I wasn’t that excited about it (well not excited enough to spend £10 on an ebook). But a fellow potterhead sent me their copy so we could talk about it. (*raises butterbear* – Cheers)

 

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

So I saw this one over on bluchickennijas blog. I haven’t really read that many books recommended by other book bloggers. I guess because I’ve only recently started to follow more people in this community. They are starting to add up on my TBR list though so I’m sure that’ll change soon. I really enjoyed reading this one.

 

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Nail Gaiman

I’ve read a couple of Neil gaiman books before (and listened, the radio plays of his books are amazing, totally go and listen to Neverwhere if you haven’t already. I’m really looking forward to Stardust) but this one hadn’t really been on my radar much until my dad started reading it. He gave it to me to read after him or, well, I took it but I did wait until he had finished first!

 

The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson

On my brief stint on reddit (I can’t remember my login and I don’t have enough time in the day anyway) I was following a fantasy book reddit and this book came up all the time (as well as pretty much every book Sanderson had written). I’m counting that as recommendation by whole forum and I decided this one was most to my liking. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. There were scenes in it that really Killed me but large swathes of it that didn’t live up to my expectations. Which is a shame because a couple of years on I’m still reeling from some of the feels the good bits gave me (Are they good bits if they hurt?).

 

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

This was vaguely recommended to me by the internet at large. It seems like every time it comes up people rave about it. They shout about how bad the film was and how everyone should read the book because it was so much better.(They also shout about how it’s a complete rip off of Tolkien and Star Wars but I really don’t care about that) So I did read it. And yes, it is better than the book but…. Eh. It was alright. But I haven’t bothered with the rest of the series.

 

Tomorrow When The War Began by John Marsden

So this was recommended to me by my Aussie best friend. It’s a post apocalyptic/WW3 childrens/YA book set in Australia. Which was an interesting take on it as I don’t think I’ve read any of these kinds of books set anywhere other than the UK or the US. I liked it, I kind of wish I’d read it when I was younger as it is right up teenage me’s ally. As it was I enjoyed it. But I haven’t gotten around to reading the rest of the series yet. I’m sure I would have gobbled it up when I was younger.

 

The 100 by Kass Morgan

You can be recommended something by a TV show trailer, right? The 100 was on my radar and then I found out it was going to imminently become a TV show so I whipped it out right quick and gave it a read. Unfortunately some of the characters got on my nerves way too much and I never read the rest. (Likewise, I really didn’t like the show. Oh well.)

 

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

So I mentioned previously that I’m really difficult to buy books for. It doesn’t tend to happen all that much. And even less of them are successful even to the stage where I’ll give them a go. My parents bought me this book for Christmas a couple of years ago and I was actually pretty surprised (sorry parents, my fault not yours) that it sounded awesome and I was looking forward to reading it. I read it. And I’m still mad at this book. This had so much potential and then it went all lovey dovey Stockholm syndrome on me. I should give The Mime Order (the next book in the series) a go purely on the small chance it gets back to the potential it had but….I haven’t. At least not yet.

 

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Okay so another vague one here for number ten. But seriously, everywhere recommended this to me. It was one of those books where you couldn’t turn without seeing something about it. Whether it was a photo edit or quote or a lovely pic of the cover. Every time I went on goodreads or Amazon it would come up in my recommended, other people who liked this liked, other things you may like…. So on and so on until at last, after I don’t know how many times of ignoring it (on principle you see, I don’t like things being shoved down my throat) I finally gave it a go and Holy Cat. I had to keep putting the book down because I think I was actually in pain from how much I loved it. (My review of this book is here)

 

Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Such a great list! I haven’t read most of these, but the Bone Season, Mistborn and the Raven Boys have all been recommended to me (but not read yet). Superpowers sounds kind of hilarious?!?

    Like

Leave a Reply

