Q&A Answers

A couple of weeks ago I did a Q&A and a giveaway to celebrate 200 followers. Well here’s the other half of that post. I’ve gone through all of the questions you guys left me but before we get to the answers lets talk about the giveaway.

I can officially announce the winner* is: Debbierose!

Congratulations! 

If you could email me (everthecrafter@gmail.com) or use the contact form on my blog we can have a chat about what you would like from my etsy shop.

*Randomly picked using an online randomiser

 

And now onto the awesome questions you asked, they were all great and I really enjoyed answering them.

I have a question regarding your cross stitch designing: do you do little sketches first, or do you dive straight into your xstitch software and play around until you find inspiration? – Claire93

Generally speaking what happens is I think of a quote I want to make into a cross stitch and design it roughly in my head. And what I mean by that is just kind of line spacing and the general idea. And then I go into word and put each word of the quote into a text box and play with fonts and positions until everything is how I want it (for the one below I also spaced out the measurements for the pitch markings too). And then I put the design into my cross stitch software and make it into a cross stitch.

 

My question is how long do you spend, about, on blogging each day? – Kerrycan

That depends completely on how I feel. And also what you mean by blogging, I guess? I only do a post every five days (ish) so actually writing posts I only spend a couple hours a week on. But reading blogs and commenting and such takes a lot longer. I spend at least half an hour a day (first thing when I wake up) looking through blogs I follow. And then probably another half an hour before I go to bed as well. How much more than that I’ll do, depends on how I feel and how busy I am and so on.

 

My question is what craft would you like to learn to do most if you had no limits physically or monetarily? – Kathyreeves

Oooh. Difficult one. Honestly for a long time my answer to this would be quilting. I’ve wanted to give it a go for as long as I can remember but just felt it was impossible. I’ve recently swallowed that bullet. This next year will be the year of quilting lol. I’m slowly collecting the supplies and my first quilt is being planned. But other than that, hmmm. So many. Wire working, fused glass, mosaics, weaving. ALL OF THEM! haha.

 

You seem to be developing your own style with the one-colour cross-stitch patterns. How did you get there? From the card-making … or was it something else that inspired you? – Textiledreamer

Hmm, cause or effect here. I’m not sure. Yes, some of the designs directly come from card designs (lets eat cake for example) but I’ve honestly always really loved negative space. Going back to the last question about quilting, I’ve noticed a lot of people spend most of their time on piecing the top part of the quilt and give over the actual quilting to a shop to do. But the part I’m most interested in is the quilting, how you fill the negative space. I think I design cards like that because I enjoy playing with negative space so I think that tends to be my style regardless of craft rather than because of a particular craft. Side note: My favourite parts of art were always printing (cutting out negative space) and resists (again, laying down negative space). That was a really good question. If I was in London I could show you a procession of art work down the years where you could see my obvious like for negative space but I’m not and they’re all in boxes and on computers elsewhere so here’s just a couple.

 

What is the most important thing you’ve learned from having a chronic illness?

I’m pretty amazing? Haha. No um, let me think. I really like the quote “comparison is the thief of joy” and I think before it was just maybe an annoying thing that people said but I’ve learnt that it really is true. And this applies to being creative too I guess. No matter what you do someone else will do it better, no matter how hard you try someone else will have it better. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be proud or happy about what you’ve done. Enjoy what you can do, don’t compare it to what you used to be able to do or what someone else is able to do.

 ….And if you could meet any author who would it be? – Bluchickenninja

I’m always stumped by these kind of questions and maybe that’s the social anxiety or borderline autistic part of me but I honestly have never wanted to talk to any author. I don’t want to have dinner with a bunch of famous people either. I’d rather talk to you or have dinner with a bunch of friends. Now, if I had friends who were authors then that’d be different.

 

What is your favourite piece you’ve made so far, and which did you enjoy making the most? – 100steps

What a question! Umm, I think maybe my blanket is the favourite thing I’ve made so far, purely because it took me the longest and I never thought I would stick with something that long. As for enjoyed the most, most things? Lol. I enjoy crafting. Maybe the Hogwarts crest that I cross stitched last year. (that’s a real answer by the way, I’m not just saying that because it was for you!)

 

At what age did you start crafting? – Debbierose

I don’t remember a time I wasn’t. Here, have this adorable picture of me as a kid with my brother. We’re doing one of those mould things where you carve your design and then pour the stuff over it (I think?). I was about 5 years old in this picture. 47631_10151373997836023_1758171646_nAnd have this other one of me MUCH younger. Okay so I’m the kid in the black dress with the red bow and I’m not actually crafting in this picture but you get a feel for how surrounded by crafts I was growing up.pd_0036We always used to have crafts at home. My mum was always devising crafts me and my brother could do. It’s always been a part of my life. From the time I could hold a paintbrush (if we’re being honest here I probably had paintbrushes before I knew how to hold them). When I went on holiday to France as a 7 year old the thing I wanted in the souvenir shop was a pack of oil paints.

 

What is your favorite thing to make? What’s your favorite handmade gift to receive? –Samantha

My favourite things to make are things that have an intended recipient. I don’t really do anything with things I make so knowing that all the work is going to someone who will appreciate it rather than just ending up in my drawer never to be seen again is good. (even if it ends up in someone else’s drawer). As for receiving, handmade cards are probably my favourite. I tend to be really picky about most things, I don’t wear jewelry, I don’t use bookmarks, I don’t wear knitted scarfs and such so although I’ll appreciate anything anyone makes me, I’d say my favourite is just getting a card someone made for me. They go up on my pin board and I get to look at them everyday.

 

Is crafting less exhausting for you than talking to/meeting people face2face? If so/not, why? –Caradehuevo

I guess that depends on the craft. The crafts that I do, yes, they’re definitely less exhausting than talking to someone face to face. Why is more complicated. I guess it has to do with maintaining a healthy and polite mask. I don’t have to act when I’m by myself and crafting. But when you’re talking to someone you smile and nod and act attentive. You have to try to follow what’s being said and read the other persons expressions and mood. It becomes very obvious when I’ve reached the point where I can’t pretend in a conversation anymore. I have a resting bitch face (not because I’m being rude but because I don’t have the energy to rearrange my muscles into something polite) I stop looking at people in the face, I start wincing when they speak loudly or laugh. When they leave I’m completely drained. Whereas when I’m crafting all my energy goes on making rather than pretending and I can stop whenever I need a break. I don’t have to spend ten minutes thinking of a polite way to say it.

It’s also difficult too because I want to chat to people so you end up going past where you should have stopped because you know once they leave that’s it instead of being able to pick up and put down crafts whenever your want to.

 

That’s all. I hope I answered all your questions fully but if there’s anything more you would like to ask feel free to leave a comment. Likewise, if my answers have spawned more questions, I’m happy to chat more below.

So, how about you guys? I definitely love to hear if you relate to any of the above or what different answers you would have given, especially if you asked a question. I mean, it’s only fair you give me your answer too, right?

 Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry 

14 thoughts on “Q&A Answers


  1. I love that my pain psych can now tell when I've reached my limit. Words start sounding like a foreign language no matter how hard I concentrate and sentences just confuse me. I'm looking at her face and not replying and trying to make sense of what she just said.. And she's like ok Tracey, let's call it. Cheers, Adele. You are the best psych I've ever had the pleasure to work with.

    I'm also a total bitch to Brett when I've reached my limit. I can't seem to help it, I try to employ the 'if you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all' technique but then I'm just silent and he's wondering why. But if I say anything it comes out MEAN. Same with my poor mum.
    These days eating seems to make me fall asleep. If I manage to eat a half decent sized meal, I'll be in bed almost immediately afterward. I can't even get my plate to the kitchen. Fortunately my travel distance to the bed is usually about 1 metre.

    As for talking to people- you are the ONE person I will always speak to, no matter how tired or shit I feel. Everybody else, no matter how much I love them or care about them, I just can't deal with even reading their messages, forget replying. Even my mum asking if she can come around to wash my dishes- too hard. I love that I can tell you 6 times a day that the pain is so bad I'm going to vomit, and you never say I complain too much. You just give hugs and love. And you never say 'I'm sorry'. I get sick of hearing that. Like, I know they mean they are sorry I'm in pain, but its such a useless phrase. I don't care if you're sorry. Just fucking hurry up with the oxycodone! DRUG ME NOW!!!
    I never have to pretend with you that I feel well, or I'm doing ok today. I just whinge and whinge and you listen and care. I wish you would complain more! Your silence in that area seems saintly, you so rarely complain.

    This time last year all of my cards were already on there way to the recipients. This year I have so far made 0 cards. My goal has gone from making just 5 (compared to the 40 I usually bust out) to making just one veeeery special card for a veeeery special friend. Can you guess who? 😉
    I have the design all lined up (and there's negative space, just for you), I'm hoping this weekend I can get Brett to help me with the cutting. I'm also kind of hoping it'll inspire me to make more. But even if it doesn't, the most important person will get a card, and that's what I care about most.
    Although I know there are a lot of people in my life having struggles that I'd love to show my support to more, I don't have the energy.

    And my new year resolution MUST be to get that cross stitch framed!!! Brett's lined up to read the books so I think once he does he'll be quite sucked into the HP world- I can't wait. Then I can HP up the bedroom with no complaints 😛 I also need to glue that puzzle! I bought a massive back piece to glue it to flipping ages ago, like more than 18 months ago. And I even have the special puzzle glue! I've been living here for 10 months and really must get onto decorating the walls.
    I still remember how 😀 😀 😀 I was to get that gorgeous cross stitch. It really does make a difference doesn't it, knowing how much time and effort went into your gift. As I get older each year, gift priorities change. As a kid it was like, 'how many cool toys will i get?' but as an adult (oh god not that word) it becomes so much more personal. It's not about how much you get, it's about how much love you feel when you know someone you love worked hard to give you something beautiful.

    And you are still the best present giver I've come across is my entire life. You seem to have an amazing knack for knowing what people need and like. I'm always surprised in the best way possible!

    I'm so bloody grateful to have you in my life. I will never forget that FF brought us together, and I'm so blessed that of the few people I latched onto there, one of them was you. You might live on the opposite side of the world, but I consider you in my top 3 people- Mum, Brett, Jess- they are my main team!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do the silent thing too when I’ve gone past my level. But my mum then thinks the looks I’m giving her are mean lol

      And I love you too 🙂 I don’t think we actually met on ff. I mean we were both on it. But I met ri and you met ri and ri made us talk to each other. I think that’s how it happened lol.

      I’m completely on board with making Brett into a potterhead. I think buying presents for people you talk to loads can be quite easy. And as we talk EVERYDAY 🙂

      I don’t tend to complain because it doesn’t normally help me. Personally it just means I’m thinking about it again/more when I’d much rather be distracted and talking about something else…. Like Harry Potter lol

      Like

      1. I can’t distract from the pain when its too bad- I have to lay down because the pain is so bad I can’t sit up, I just rock back and forward and try not to throw up! And I truly like for just one person to know how absolutely shit I feel, because it makes me feel like I’m not suffering alone. Since Brett is usually asleep when we are online together, that falls to you 😛

        You are just the hardest person I have ever known to buy a gift for. So I cannot agree with you there!

        Thanks Ri Ri!!! That woman is magical. I can’t imagine my life without you in it! I miss you SO much when I’m too sick to chat for just 1 day.

        Brett’s holidays start next Friday, he’s planning to get some reading done- HP will be the priority!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I know that. I didn’t mean you should just distract yourself. I know how bad it is for you and I’m always here.
        I know! I must be way too picky or something? I’m actually really easy to buy for now that you’ve agreed to be my personal bookshop. I love my personal bookshop ❤

        Yes! Hold him at wand point until he reads them!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes. ‘Buy’ for. Lol!

        Brett is good at distracting me, often when I have my shower and the pain is bad, he’ll sit on the toilet seat and just talk and talk to distract me from the pain. It’s quite helpful, actually! And he’s very patient, I’m often in there for a while. He always offers to help me shower, but I don’t think he’d scrub my skin hard enough, haha. One night after release from hospital he spent 45 minutes slowly combing conditioner through the absolute birdsnest my hair had become from all the rolling around, trying not to pull out any more hair than was necessary. Ahhh what a man. He just needs to read the HP series and then he’ll be perfect! Haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just read every question and every answer ^^ A lovely variety of themes, and some very interesting answers. Especially about the “blank space” thing which definitely explains your style of card-making (which I really like) and your desire to quilt. Thanks for taking the time to answer all those questions and well done to DebbieRose ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always find that making something physically uses up less energy than doing something on the computer. I don’t know if thats because looking at the screen is tiring or because of the software. It’s weird. Also you say you like negative space. Have you ever looked at some of the really intricate paper cut designs? You should try something like that. Though I suppose those ones are done with a scalpel which is a nightmare to use.

    Also yes I totally understand about you not wanting to meet authors. I’ve met a few of my favourite last year and even though I loved their books I really had no idea of what to say. It can get a little awkward.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Using a computer definitely leaves me with a headache but I use it lying down in bed so it doesn’t use as much energy as siting at a desk would. But then I do everything lying down in bed haha.
      I really love those kind of paper cut designs. Unfortunately they are normally hand cut with scalpels on thinner paper than I could use for a card. There’s only so intricate you can make something on a machine. It would be horrible to spend an hour waiting for it to cut only to find out its ripped something or not cut something right. I do try things every now and then though. So who knows? Maybe I’ll find a way to do them.

      I’ve met a few bands at signings and stuff and it’s always very awkward. My brother can go up and have a long chat with them but whenever I did it I always just awkwardly said hi and handed over the thing to be signed lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

