Christmas books TBR

Ten books that I’m mega excited about reading and have finally gotten my hands on thanks to Christmas.

So towards the end of this year I had a backlog of books on my kindle and I decided that I wanted to try to whittle that down a little (along with reading some arcs from netgalley) and save these mega awesome books until Christmas. Because honestly, what’s better than getting the books you’ve been having palpitations just thinking about reading for Christmas?

So without further ado, the ten books that I most want to read and by some Christmas miracle* got for Christmas.

*So asking and making wishlists and buying them myself with present money totally counts as a miracle

The links are all to the Goodreads profiles for the books, I haven’t added any links for books that are sequels.25890355

 Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine

This is a sequel to Ink and Bone which I read earlier in the year and it was amazing. The Great Library of Alexandria didn’t burn down and now it basically rules the world. There should be more books about books. I’ve heard mixed reviews for this sequel so I’m hoping it’s as good as the first book was.

28962996

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty*

A space adventure set on a lone ship where the murdered crew are resurrected through cloning to discover who their killer was — and the secret to their mission – Goodreads descripton

It sounds really thrilling. I definitely need to read more scifi this year, it’s been sadly lacking in my life recently.

* this one is not actually out yet but I will have my hands on it soon. 

The Scorpio Races The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

I read the first book in The Raven Boys trilogy this year and it was brilliant. I also didn’t realise that The Scorpio Races was written by the same author, I’d seen it recommended a lot so I’m excited to read that too.

25760792

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

I stumbled upon this one a few months ago on goodreads and I think this might actually be the I most want to read. The premise sounds brilliant as do the characters and the setting. It just sounds so…perfect for me.

A Gathering of Shadows & This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

A Gathering of shadows is a sequel to what I honestly think might be my FAVOURITE book EVER (A Darker Shade of Magic), I’d been putting off reading the sequel because I couldn’t imagine it living up to the first book but I think the next book is out soon (already?) so  I really need to read it. And I’ve also heard so many good things about This Savage Song that I have to read that too.

22299763

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

This book is also a sequel (to Six of Crows) and it has caused me so much trouble over the last couple of months just trying to avoid people talking about it because seriously everyone is talking about it! It’s not even that I’m worried about spoilers so much (bookbloggers tend to be pretty good about not spoiling stuff without warnings) I’m just mega excited about reading it and knowing I couldn’t read it yet was making me sad!

23395680

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman

So it’s scifi, it’s told in an interesting way. and everyone has been talking about this. I was always going to end up reading this book. I mean its on my most wanted list so obviously I’m really excited to read it.

28168475

Field One by Simon Winstanley

The data couldn’t lie: Mankind extinct in 64 years. Archive’s conclusion was simple: Make time to escape. Their solution was complex: 7 billion people must never know. Their solution is failing. The future lies with a child genius fascinated by time, an officially retired space program, an Arctic Circle anomaly, and Field One.- Goodreads description.

I actually stumbled over this one on amazon as it was on offer and it sound’s really interesting. As does the sequel so I better get a shift on and read this.


 

So how about you? Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Which one should I start first? I’m joking, I’m totally picking that myself, sorry folks. Did you get any books for Christmas or better question: which books are you most excited about having gotten for christmas?

 Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry 

10 thoughts on “Christmas books TBR

  1. wow – you got some great books this christmas. Believe it or not, I didn’t get any books at all 😦 Lol the parents think my TBR pile is too big and I have to agree. I can’t wait to read something by VE Schwab though – I keep hearing such good things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’M TOTALLY FREAKING OUT BECAUSE THESE BOOKS ARE ALL SO AMAZING OMGGGG. *flails* I absolutely adore the Raven Cycle. It’s my actual life.😍 And Crooked Kingdom, Illuminae, and Timekeeper are SO BEAUTIFUL AND PERFECT (and just a little bit feels stabbing) and VE Schwab is like queen. ❤ I cannot get enough of her books. So basically read all of them at once. #helpful 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

