Christmas Crafts

First of I hope everyone had a lovely week and happy new year!

I made, relatively speaking, quite a lot of things this Christmas which I can now show you all as presents have all been opened. Warning: There’s rather a lot of photos in this post!

First off, the Christmas cards I sent out. I’m not sure how I managed to make them all between all the other cards I was making but I’m really proud of them.
wp_20161206_17_33_54_pro

Then onto presents.

I finished my mums lap blanket. I did start giving it a border but it actually looked better without one so I ripped it out. I also made a Peter pan plaque, I found the quote on pinterest and thought that out was hilarious so designed the plaque as a present.

I made a new much more ambitious tote bag which was by far the hardest thing I’ve ever made. The lines are wonky the points are off but hey for a first go at piercing anything I’m still pretty proud of it and it does is job. It’s also great practise for the quilting I want to do this year. I think I mentioned last time how freaking difficult it is to photograph a bag, These were the best pictures I got.wp_20161216_17_53_03_pro

I also tried a new crochet pattern, I absolutely love Tunisian crochet (it’s almost as soft as knitting but still uses one hook and half the energy) so when I saw this pattern I knew I wanted to make it. (it’s by Purl Soho, who have loads of awesome patterns. I know it’s called the pompom hat and there is a distinct lack of pompoms in my photo but I left the pompoms that the pattern called for off as, after trying them, I thought it looked better without). I did have to make it twice because the yarn and hook I used ended up way too big but I got out done on time (just!). This is a quick pic of me modeling it before it got wrapped. I haven’t gotten a photo of the recipient wearing it….yet.

And last but not least, I turned a cross stitch that I had done onto a cushion for my brother. It’s the first time I’ve done that so thank you to everyone who gave me advice. I backed the cross stitch with a piece of material and top stitched it in place with a contrasting colour and I think the final result looks pretty good. The cushion is a little snug but it fits!

Not a present but I also tried to make quilted table mats for Christmas. It’s the first time I’ve ever tried to quilt anything and lots of issues appeared. Apparently I don’t pull the fabric taut enough because I ended up with loads of puckering but oh well live and learn. The lines are all mega wonky, I did use a quilting guide but it isn’t very secure and moves (what point?!?!) and I…. Get distracted easily. Haha. My eyes kept drifting to make sure I was holding the fabric in place so the lines go awry. I should take my time but I always rush things. Anyway, I only managed to get two done (I ran out of bias binding because I thought I’d bought a 5m pack but it was only 2.5m) and, as I only managed to get the second one done on Christmas eve, I didn’t have time to go and get more!

I did use my one although it didn’t have the binding on yet. It was trimmed unlike in this picture. And this is a shot of the second one before trimming/binding as you can see the quilting a little better.

And finally, I’ll leave you with a couple birthday cards. One for my dads birthday a few weeks ago and another for a friend who’s birthday was the other day. Happy birthday 🙂

Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry 

15 thoughts on “Christmas Crafts

  1. The Christmas Cards and Birthday Cards you made look awesome! I wish I could make Christmas cards like that. I just buy Christmas cards every year when they are on sale after the holiday and use them for the next year. Lol. The quilted pieces are very nice too. I love the color combinations you used, especially the tote bag you made. 😉 One of these days I want to attempt quilting, but I don’t know when that will be. Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow you have been busy! I love your cards. Your cushion for your brother is a brilliant idea! It looks fabulous and is a great way to ‘stitch’ for a man. I’m too scared to try quilting- your attempt looks perfect to me! Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jess, you are a star! So many wonderful cards and hand-crafted présents. Crochet, cross stitch, sewing and now quilting . . . you are turning out some beautiful work.
    The cushion is really fabulous and I think your place mats are extremely well done too (those that were finished lol).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

