Blogger Recognition Award

Last month I got nominated by the lovely Lois from Loisreadsbooks (you should go check their blog out) to do this post, I haven’t had a chance till now, I love getting tagged in things but don’t always have the time to do them quickly, but here it is.

screen-shot-2017-02-02-at-09-31-22

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated and provide the link to the post you created.

How my blog started:

As someone who is mostly bedbound, the Internet is my lifeline to the world. It’s where I meet and interact with friends. I am also someone who has always been crafty. Some of my earliest memories are of doing arts and crafts. When I started my blog I was so unwell that I was only managing to do maybe ten minutes of crochet a week. I missed it. So I thought what better way to stay creative and to connect with the outside world than to blog about crafting. I, ever the crafter, kept on crafting despite my illness. 

My two pieces of advice to new bloggers:

I’d say interaction is the biggest part of blogging. Even more than the posts you write yourself. At first, like many bloggers, I tended to write my posts and that was it. But getting involved and reading and commenting on other peoples blogs and responding to comments on your own blog makes blogging so much more rewarding/interesting.

Saying that, when you do write posts as you obviously do, blog what you want to write about. That’s piece of advice number two. Don’t feel like you have to stick to one thing/theme. I like books and I feel like there’s a pressure to be a ‘proper’ book blogger but I also like crafts, likewise sometimes I feel I need to pick one. But you don’t. It’s your blog and a mix of topics can be interesting. Do what you want to write about. I’m still learning this, sometimes I think, I want to write a post about x,y,z but my followers won’t want to read that/it’s not what I normally blog about but that shouldn’t stop you if you want to write it. Its an on going thing but it’s YOUR blog.

 


 

I’m going to cheat and not tag anyone in this post because I actually got tagged in another award last week which will go up in a few days. I haven’t been tagged in an award post since I first started so that’s a weird coincidence. Blog awards are very much like buses. Anyway, that post will go up in a couple of days and I will tag people in that one and they can pick which of these two they would rather do (or none, because they might not want to and remember kids, blog about what you want haha).

Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry

10 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. congratulations ^^
    and I totally agree that blogging is all about interaction. I do love checking my WP reader to see what new posts are up, and I also love reading other people’s comment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

