Top 10 2017 Book Releases

Top Ten Books that I am most excited about being released in 2017

This is a post that I never thought I would write. A post about books that are (mostly) not even out yet?! I’m normally years behind things so how I’m even aware of books that aren’t out yet is yet another one of the miracles of book blogging.

I’m also rather late to writing this post, with it being march already and all. So some of these are in fact already out (and still not read, but shhh. My TBR is threatening to kill me).

All links are to the goodreads profiles for each book and the release dates are what their goodreads profile said at the time of writing this post.

January:

The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova is a steampunk fantasy that sounds really awesome. Engineers, thieves, magic: I’m there (or I will be when I get my hands on this book).

Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land is a psychological thriller about the daughter of a serial killer. I don’t read much in this genre but this sounds really good. Good might not be the right word to use here – interesting?

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty is a sci-fi thriller set aboard a spaceship where they have to work out which one of them is the killer before it’s too late. There doesn’t seem to be an ebook version of this out yet though.

25669098

March:

Shadow Run by AdriAnne Strickland. For this one I’m just going to go ahead and copt the first line of the GR descriptions because it sounds perfect. “Firefly” meets DUNE in this action-packed sci-fi adventure about a close-knit, found family of a crew navigating a galaxy of political intrigue and resource-driven power games.

30688855

April:

Inherit the Flame (Scorched Continent #3) by Megan O’Keefe So this is one that isn’t out yet but because netgalley and angryrobot (the publisher) are both awesome, I am currently reading this. Like, right now. The first two books in this series were amazing and you should go and check them out. They are steampunk adventures about a con artist called Detan (first book is called Steal the Sky).

May:

Cold Summer by Gwen Cole is about a boy who can’t control his time-travelling ability so spends his life switching between WW2 and the modern day where he has to try to hide his PTSD from, ya know, WW2.

Thick as Thieves (The Queen’s Thief #5) by Megan Whalen Turner. I’ve been waiting my whole life (exageration alert) for the next book in the Queen’s thief series because it is my favourite. Ever. This isn’t a continuation of the series but it is set in the same world and I can’t wait to go back.

Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts  is a fantasy about a bunch of bastards (literally, the kings bastards, I’m not just being mean) banding together, having a good time and trying to save their kingdom. Sounds fun.

29283884

June:

A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee. I’m actually not sure how to describe this book. Historical fiction? It’s a couple of posh guys going on a grand tour in 18th century Europe before they have to grow up and there’s um, magical artifact, pirates, highwaymen, and a major crush on each other.

9307699

October:

The Book of Dust by Philip Pullman. Another His Dark Materials trilogy? I’m more than willing to go back to Lyra’s oxford.

AND:

12111823

Winds of Winter by George RR Martins (ASOIAF #6) Before anyone says it, No, I do not have any inside information about a release date. I am simply an eternal optimist (eternal may just become correctly used here). I have avoided season 6 of the show and it’s starting to look like I might have to avoid season 7 too. BUT I WILL READ THIS BOOK THIS YEAR GODDAMMIT!!!


Are you excited about any of these books too? or maybe lucky enough to have read any of them already? Let me know what you thought. And have I missed any must read 2017 books off of this list? Let me know so i can add it to my TBR and weep.

Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry 

11 thoughts on “Top 10 2017 Book Releases

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m super excited for Thick as Thieves too! 😀 I’m glad to see someone else who has heard of Megan Whalen Turner. I feel like most people I know have no idea how awesome her books are. I really hope we get to see Eugenides and his friends again, even though there is a different main character now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s my favourite series! I always recommend it but no one has ever read it! I was kind of sad to find out it wasn’t a sequel to gen’s story but hopefully we’ll see them again and this will be just as good!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like a great list! Reading about the king’s bastards? Bet that would be interesting haha! I don’t know anything about the Winds of Winter and there is a TV show? I am so behind. We have been watching Outlander and can’t wait for Season 3!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

