Winter Favourites

Or that post where I rather embarrassingly tell you all that I have a playlist on Spotify purely for those times that I want to pretend to be a Formula 1 driver.

 ,,,

I never really do wrap up posts about everything. I have the memo pad for my monthly books and I have update posts for my crafts but I thought I might try out a seasonal wrap up for all those things that slip through the cracks and never get their own posts.

So here’s my winter wrap up where I attempt to tell you all about my favourite books, films music and happenings in life all in one post. Winter in the northern hemisphere is December, January, February. Or, October to March because lets be real, I live in England and winter lasts at least that long so I will be focusing on my favourites from only those months (it wouldn’t be much of a winter favourites if I didn’t). This doesn’t mean things released in those months just things I’ve been enjoying in them.

Starting with:

BOOKS:

But you already do book posts I hear you say, well I am going to be keeping this section short.

Best books of my winter:

Sea (The Huntress) by Sarah Driver, Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo, 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare by MG Buehrlen, A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

Links go to the goodreads pages for each book

 

MUSIC:

I don’t mention music on this blog and it’s such a big part of my life that I definitely should. I am ALWAYS listening to music. I have about eighty playlists on Spotify for different moods, and while I don’t listen to music while I’m writing, I do listen to music while I’m planning which means I have playlists for my stories too (such as a Slytherin playlist). I have a playlist called Fight Me (for those times when you want to pretend to be a badass fighting all your imaginary enemies) and also a playlist for those times that you want to pretend to be a Formula 1 driver….. Anyone else? No. Just me then? (it’s called Monaco and it’s awesome!)

But anyway, I had a point here somewhere….

Oh yes, so I thought I would share with you some of the songs I’ve been listening to pretty much non-stop, on repeat and dancing around to this winter. (if they were vinyls the threads would have been worn down by now. Thank god for digital music).

17467722_10154906746301023_575879484_n

Riot by Jon Waltz

(with lyrics like: “I’m gonna burn this rubber, I’m gonna burn this gasoline” can you guess which playlist this went on?)

Rockabye by Clean Bandit ft, Sean Paul and Anne-Marie

Sing by Pentatonix

17410000_10154906746286023_385266250_n

All Night by The Vamps

(With lyrics like “I’ve been up all night – No sleep” it’s the perfect theme song for me)

Boys and Girls by Will.I.Am

 

FILMS:

I don’t watch movies that much, I won’t even bother to do a tv section because I’m woeful at keeping up with tv. I barely manage to watch one episode a week of a favourite show. But I have watched a couple of great movies this winter.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story: This was excellent. I was a little aprehensive of the lead as I’d only ever seen her in romcoms but everything was brilliant and it was laugh out loud funny at points too,

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: I actually just couldn’t get over the music. I am back in the world. It was very good, but a lot of running around and a bit nostalgic but well I am nostalgic so I didn’t really mind. I loved the niffler.

The Finest Hour: I really enjoyed this film, it’s about a lifeboat station and a sailor who has to go out in a storm to try to save the crew of a large ship. It stars Chris Pine and Casey Affleck and it is a very good drama to curl up with.

 

LIFE:

I’m really thankful that the weather is starting to get warmer. I freaking HATE winter. But, regardless of the weather, there have been some good times. November saw me take part in NaNoWriMo for the first time. I won. That’s 50,ooo words written in one month. I never thought that was something I would ever manage and I’ve wanted to take part for years .It was also when I started writing my own original story. At the time of writing this post I now only have four chapter left of it to write (out of 21), which is so mega exciting for me.

Craft wise, I’ve started my very first quilt which is also something that I’ve pretty much always wanted to do. It seems this winter was a time for diving into projects and by some miracle they are going well. So far anyway!

 


So how about you? What songs have you been listening to on repeat lately? Any films you think I should be watching? What have been your favorites this winter? And what do you think of my seasonal wrap ups, good idea or no?

Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry 

9 thoughts on “Winter Favourites

  1. Love the idea of a seasonal wrap-up and also of a playlist for when you want to pretend to be an F1 driver. I don’t have one of those but if I did, I’d definitely have Bat out of hell on it. Love that song!
    I really want to see Fantastic Beasts and Rogue 1 and the other film sounds good too. I shall add it to my list. I haven’t seen many lately, and none at the cinema, but I’m pretty desperate to see Beauty and the beast. I know – I’m just a Disney addict LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love wrap-ups! This was a very fun read. I usually just see pictures and patterns of crafts so it’s always nice to read about other interests too! Congrats on the NaNoWriMo!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

