Serial Update

The other week I actually left the house. It was a very important, specific trip….To the Cereal Aisle of my local supermarket.WP_20170525_13_24_35_Pro

I’ve been here nearly two years but I have finally visited my local supermarket! Round of applause please.

I needed a new cereal seeing as one of the ones I normally have has suddenly lowered in quality. (It’s just not chocolate enough anymore). So Benny (my wheelchair) got loaded into my dad’s car and off we went. It was a lovely sunny day and luckily, I found a suitable replacement which is yummy. I also bought a variety pack even though I only wanted to try two of them. One if which was not nice so that didn’t go so well.

Speaking of food shopping, I’m going to fill you in on The Great Ice Cream Mishap

My parents came back from shopping the other week and said that they’d seen Hagen Daz Ice Cream at the store and asked me which one I wanted so that they could get it next time. I admit, I squealed a bit (I love me some hagen daz, it’s such a treat) I told them the Cookies and Cream flavour (Is there any other one, really?).

So off they went the next week and bought it. I planned my evening very carefully, looking forward to my ice cream for dessert and went out to eat it.

My mum took it out of the freezer ready to start scooping and from my perch on the sofa I saw the tub was blue. Blue? I though. Why would a Hagen Daz tub be blue. So I asked, dread filling me: “Why is it blue? Is it Hagen Daz?”

Mum, paused, looking at the tub in her hands “…. No.”

“It’s Ben and Jerry’s, isn’t it?” The answer to that was a yes. I really don’t like Ben and Jerry’s ice cream and you’re all probably thinking, ice cream is ice cream but Ben and Jerry’s has a weird taste. I’ve been to the Ben and Jerry’s music festival in London where they give you as much free Ice cream as you want and I only managed one cone and one taster spoon because ICK. Needless to say I didn’t get any ice cream.

 

In other news, I posted the other day on twitter about just how many books are piling up on my kindle:

tweet

The answer to that tweet is very simple: Not long at all! I think it was two days in the end. Ooops.

I’ve bought seven books this month (and a free ARC) and to be fair most of them were on deal for less than £1 but still that’s a lot and I already have too many books to read and not enough time to read them.

Books bought this month:

The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

Starship’s Mage by Glynn Stewart

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Kingston Raine and the Grim Reaper by Jackson Lear

The Foxhole Court (All For The Game #1) by Nora Sakavic

The Raven King (All For The Game #2) by Nora Sakavic

The King’s Men (All For The Game #3) by Nora Sakavic

I’ve also added quite a few books to my to read shelf on Goodreads this month too….18 to be precise.  I won’t add them here because that’s a rather long list but if you want to check it out you can click here and feel free to add me on Goodreads.

I’ll post the reviews for books I’ve actually read in May next week. But for now, have you read any of these? Do you have a book addiction, want to join me in bookworms anonymous? Anyone else hate Ben & Jerry’s? That one is probably just me. But I’m going to leave you all now and read some more books.

Bloglovin / Twitter / Etsy Goodreads / Ravelry

12 thoughts on “Serial Update

  1. I had to laugh at this post. My hubby will only eat Kellogg’s Cornflakes, and over the years (we’ve been married 48 yrs) I have tried tricking him into eating different brands many times, but one mouthful and he knows. So I totally understand that ice-cream is not all the same.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bummer about the ice cream, but here’s a fun piece of trivia for you. Cookies and cream was invented at South Dakota State University’s dairy plant! Their ice cream is to die for, you might even like it better than Hagen Daz, so if you ever have the chance, taste it! 🙂 Congrats on the trip to the grocery store!!! Good for you, but I hope that in that sampler box you find one or two cereals that grab your taste buds!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you found a replacement cereal you like. As for Hagen Daz….MY FAVORITE!! White Chocolate Raspberry. I finished the one I had in the freezer yesterday. Guess I will be making a grocery store run soon 😉 I’ve never had Ben and Jerry ice cream, but have heard from many people who don’t like it. I do hope that you get some of your favorite Hagen Daz soon. I have many, many books piling up on my shelf that I have to get to.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Baked beans – they must be Heinz. Nothing else tastes the same. I do like Ben and Jerry’s ice cream though, especially Phish food. Yum!

    I am a book addict and have stopped counting how many years worth of books I have on my shelves and Kindles. (Yes, 2 Kindles). If I see a book that I fancy, and it’s in my price range, I get it. Otherwise I might forget that I saw it and possibly miss out on a fantastic read. (also a Goodreads addict so have sent a friend request)

    Like

  5. I love Ben & Jerry’s – especially the cinnamon bun flavour! Actually, I always find Hagen Daz (sorry, can’t spell it!) disappointing. There’s not enough flavour for me.

    I’ve added you on Goodreads.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

