WIP Wednesday

I thought it was about time I did an update for the random different craft projects in doing. So here is all the WIP’s (Work-In-Progress) that I currently have going. There’s a mix here of crochet and sewing and quilting and card making. If you want to see what I’ve been cross stitching then you can check out my cross stitch update post here.

But to start off with, a disappointment. I really haven’t done much more of dads camel stitch crochet scarf. I think I’ve only done one row since I last spoke about it. I just haven’t really been in a crochet mood, I think this is mainly because its been pretty hot on and off lately. We had a heatwave the other week and I just didn’t want to work on something that had such thick yarn! Even just thinking about it made me hot.

But other things have been getting done. I’ve done more sewing. I did a (very rough) practice run for something I might make for a Christmas present.
WP_20170713_15_28_08_Pro

I kind of read through the instructions quickly first then sat down and did it all from memory so one of the seams ended up on the wrong side but, most of it worked and it gave me a good idea of what it would be like/size for when/if I do make them properly. I quite like it, this won’t be the fabric I use for the final ones, it’s just scraps I had but whether or not I do it will be down to whether I have the time because most of my sewing time is being used up for my quilt.

At the moment my sewing machine is set up with a walking foot which, suffice to say, isn’t the foot I’d be using for the stocking. Which means I’d have to change things every time I sat down. So the stockings are on hold for now.

As for my quilt, I’m onto my second lot of blocks. And this is what they all look like laid out. This won’t be the final lay out and the edges aren’t squared off but it gives you an idea of how it’ll look.

WP_20170713_14_27_07_Pro

I’ve definitely taken better photos in my life but laid out like this it is just over 5 feet wide so it isn’t the easiest thing for a shorty like me to take a picture of! I did have it laid out on my bed first but it’s wider than my bed so it had to go on the floor.

I’m running out of quilting thread so I’ll need to go to the craft shop soon and I might turn that into an excuse to get lunch at the cafe next door so i can get a chocolate milkshake. Mmmmmm. Although, I really need a haircut….

And finally for the WIP’s I’m working on, cards…

WP_20170713_14_22_40_Pro

I think I’m finally getting the hang of my new cutting machine and I’ve started putting my paper cut cards back up in my shop as well as some ‘new’ designs that I actually designed ages ago but after my old cutter died so never managed to make them. Once everything has settled down again I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can do.


So that’s what I’ve been writing on craft wise. I should really get back into crocheting that scarf. How about you? What projects are you working on right now? Have you started your Christmas projects yet?

Bloglovin / Twitter / EtsyΒ /Β Goodreads

17 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. I have always wanted to be crafty (in the making beautiful things sense) always watching Kirstie’s Homemade Christmas and think yeah, next year!!! We are starting to prep Christmas though, we are making hampers for our family and friends, quite an exciting project…

    In other news I have nominated you in the Mystery Blogger Awards… find out about it here https://daddyandrory.wordpress.com/2017/07/22/the-mystery-blogger-award/
    X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

